February 2018


Professor And The Madman
“Disintegrate Me”
CD Review By: Janet E. Hammer

The band I interviewed last month have a new album coming out on FullerTone Records Friday February, 23, 2018. It will be available via vinyl, CD or download. When I first listened to it, I was really happily surprised, reminding me of a mix tape I would have made for a friend. It had the sound of 60’s Garage stuff like The Count Five or ? and the Mysterians. It also reminded me of the Who, Creation, Syd Barrett (both with and after Pink Floyd) and of course The Damned. It goes from hard to melancholy to playful sometimes all in one song.

This is a band full of musical royalty. To start with Alfie Agnew and Sean Elliott of of D.I., and to complete the line up Paul Gray and Rat Scabies of the Damned. The record was co-produced David M. Allen (The Cure, The Damned and The Sisters of Mercy) along with the members of the band. The writing is shared equally between Agnew and Elliott taking on life and the loss of it in songs. You can hear the southern California punk influence brought by both of the song writers. The song “Space Walrus” shows a deep reverence not just to the Beatles but also to the late David Bowie with the song about the spaceman. The song “Useless” speaks about pain and uses the speech from President F.D.R. called a “Prayer for D-Day.”

There is a live band consisting of Alfie and Sean, also Frank Agnew, Mark Tolbert and Nick Scalzo that plays shows now. There is also a hope that once the album is released THERE MAY BE A CHANCE OF SHOWS WITH THE ALBUM LINE UP, BUT NO PROMISES.

The complete Tracklist is:

  1. Nightmare
  2. Space Walrus
  3. Wishes
  4. Faces
  5. The Mirror
  6. Machines
  7. Useless
  8. Demented Love Song
  9. Electroconvulsive Therapy

To follow this on social media please go to the following websites




Twitter @ProfessornMadmn