February 2018


Eva O
"The Rise Of Eva"
Review By: Billy James

Gothic/Death Rock artist Eva O is known worldwide as the “Queen Of Darkness,” a title she has earned through her nearly 4 decade-long career in music where her intensely passionate guitar playing and singing became mainstays in such pioneering bands as Super Heroines, Christian Death and Shadow Project. The latter two projects also featured her longtime creative partner and husband Rozz Williams, who tragically took his own life in 1998. But it was following another intense tragedy just last year when her husband of 9 years, Edwin Borsheim, also committed suicide that Eva sought refuge and catharsis in music, writing a new album about the depths of loss and suffering she has experienced. The album, entitled The Rise Of Eva O, can only be described as funereal, with sparse instrumentation and profoundly poignant lyrics steeped in pain. Eva’s instantly recognizable baritone voice has never sounded as rich and deeply moving as it does here. This intensely personal album even includes a special guest appearance (on flute) by Eva’s daughter Scarlet Dream. The Rise Of Eva O is a remarkable testament to the indomitable spirit of this incredibly talented artist and will be released worldwide on CD and digital platforms on January 12th via Cleopatra Records

Track List

  1. Mister Death
  2. Yesterday’s Pain
  3. iClff/Fade
  4. Cut
  5. Eye See
  6. Bitter
  7. Shadow Of Death
  8. Rejection